Am I The Only One Who Is Tired of Hearing This?

Lately, I have been experiencing a particularly pernicious case of writer’s block, so I decided to write about it. Odd how that works, isn’t it? The first thing that came to my mind was how difficult, perhaps even impossible, it would be to put something on paper with which I would be satisfied. “I can’t do that.”

It occurred to me, however, that maybe—just maybe, there was a more useful perspective I could take. A mental trick I could perform on myself to shift my thinking. Instead of “I can’t do that,” I added a word and made a few other adjustments. The result: “How can I do that?”

It sounded great in my head, and it even looked good when I jotted it down. So, I began to write about it.

Read more…

5 comments

  1. It never ceases to amaze me how productive I can be if I just start putting down words. Even if I think I’m hopelessly stuck, the act of writing develops its own momentum.

    1. You could not be more right! I truly believe that creativity experiences inertia. Sometimes when it seems to have halted, all it takes is a nudge to get it rolling again. I find myself in the trap of waiting for a direction to get started, only to discover (or re-discover, as is often the case) that the direction is less important than simply starting.

  2. ‘The long way recognizes that there are no magic bullets’, Yep, when positive thinking becomes a thing you have to ‘positively think about’ you know you have to address the mantra.

    1. I fear that positive thinking is one paradigm that has drifted off-message. There can be a fine line between repressing emotions and staying positive, and being pressured into positive thinking is one way to quickly cross that line into unhealthy places.

Leave a Reply

