Childhood Home

By Patricia White

Broom swept, they say.
When you sell a house, the
contract states that the rooms
must be broom swept.

So I inspect each empty
room and begin to sweep.
And as I gather the pile
of dust bunnies and food
particles and a vitamin
that rolled away, I begin
to cry.

MariaS_ForSaleI am sweeping up my
childhood.
I sweep saying grace at Easter
and my father saying the rosary
in his armchair.

I sweep my sisters’
faces and voices who
now live in eternity.
I sweep the comings and
goings of my brothers.

The tiny pieces of dirt must
go, and we must, too.

I sweep hours of play in
our pool that was sheltered
by a chestnut tree.  I sweep
red eyes and the smell of
chlorine and the sound of the neighbor’s
lawnmower.

Among the dead insects and tiny
particles of glass, I sweep the
crackling flame of a winter fire.

I sweep milk and cookies
after school and singing to
records and watching Mr. Brady
and Pa rear their families.

Now I’m a pioneer, and
oh how I’ll miss the green velvet
couch that helped me do a kick over
when I perched my feet and
arched my back and kicked when
Mama wasn’t looking.
I sweep her brushing my hair before bed.

I want to stay here.MariaS_Memories

On the top floor, I sweep up
dreams and plans.

I sweep up my favorite part of
the past, where she sewed and
made pottery and stained glass.
Where we shared a room and
she tucked me in and sang me
a lullaby.  I can hear her sing.
She would play the piano and
I would dance and jump and
twirl until I fell from
dizziness.

A little spider attempts
to escape from the dustpan.
She crawls out, and I sweep her back in.  Oh no, Mam!
We are leaving together.  If I go,
you go.

I won’t take a picture.
It is all in my memory.  I am ready.


We are thrilled today to introduce our latest featured artist, Maria S. I am so excited to have the opportunity to debut her work! Maria is a talented, young digital artist with a beautiful creative spark.

Thank you, Maria, and welcome!

– Roggen Wulf

Click to open in gallery.


PWhite_AuthorPlate

About Patricia White

Patricia White is a New York based poet, playwright, and full time high school English teacher. Her extensive repertoire embraces art forms ranging from prose to video production and more. (Read more…)

 


Patricia_White_Banner

(Patricia White, 2015)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

